Sustainable climate and environmental protection through conservation and reforestation of the rainforest

Llano Bonito Nature Reserve

Llano Bonito Nature Reserve - The first 100 hectares of the future

Our Llano Bonito reforestation area is registered and a state-recognized nature reserve, which Green Industry GmbH is legally obliged to protect and preserve. It covers 100 hectares and is located in an economically disadvantaged area deep in the south of Costa Rica. The area consists of 65 hectares of primary rainforest and around 35 hectares that were cleared in the past by local farmers for lack of alternative income and used as cattle pasture.

Sustainable reforestation of the rainforest

Since 2019, we have professionally reforested around 18 hectares of the cleared area with 20,000 native trees. Our team is permanently on site - a forest engineer, a ranger and local farmers ensure effective management of the measures and ongoing monitoring. The farmers are specifically trained in reforestation. They take the seeds of various tree species from the remaining rainforest, grow the seedlings and plant them out as soon as they are strong enough. In this way, the cleared areas are renatured in conjunction with the existing forest - in its complete natural biodiversity through healthy mixed planting.

Restoring the habitat of wild animals

Our commitment is helping to protect Costa Rica's diverse wildlife. The wild animals are slowly returning to the area, which we document with cameras permanently installed in the forest. It is an indescribable experience when the ocelot, tiger cat and co. run in front of the lens of the wildlife camera.

Take a deep breath: the output

Climate commitment in the rainforest is highly effective. In total, the Llambo Bonito Reserve already binds around 2300 tons of CO2 annually. This is because a single tree in the rainforest absorbs up to 22 kilograms of carbon dioxide per year and one tree stores up to 0.91 tons of carbon. By comparison, a 35-metre-high spruce in our native forests stores around 0.7 tons of carbon in 100 years, which corresponds to 2.6 tons of CO2.

Alternative income opportunities for the population

Local people are heavily involved in the project work. They take care of the cultivation and planting of the tree seedlings and are responsible for the ongoing maintenance and monitoring of the areas. Instead of clearing more land for livestock farming, the local population is offered a new source of income.

With your support, we can maintain the great performance of the rainforest and achieve even more by purchasing additional areas.

Green Industry Timeline

2010
Foundation
2010 Foundation of Green Industry with the aim of researching and developing sustainable materials and natural substances for use in the processing industry.
2010
2015
Takeover
Acquisition of Costa Rica-based Auguras SA and its land for the purpose of reforestation and restoration of the rainforest
2015
2016
Registration process
Registration of our areas in Costa Rica as state-recognized nature reserves.
2016
2019
Afforestation
Since 2019, we have professionally reforested around 18 hectares of the cleared area with 20,000 native trees.
2019
Shopping cart
Scroll up

Nachhaltiger Klima- und Umweltschutz durch Erhalt und Aufforstung des Regenwaldes

Llano Bonito Naturreservat

Llano Bonito Naturreservat – Die ersten 100 Hektar Zukunft

Unser Aufforstungsgebiet Llano Bonito ist registriert und ein staatlich anerkanntes Naturreservat, zu dessen Schutz und Erhalt die Green Industry GmbH gesetzlich verpflichtet ist. Es umfasst 100 Hektar und liegt in einer wirtschaftlich benachteiligten Gegend tief im Süden Costa Ricas. Die Fläche besteht aus 65 Hektar Primärregenwald und etwa 35 Hektar, die in der Vergangenheit von ortsansässigen Bauern mangels alternativer Einkommen gerodet und als Viehweide genutzt wurden.

Nachhaltige Aufforstung des Regenwaldes

Seit 2019 haben wir rund 18 Hektar der gerodeten Fläche mit 20.000 einheimischen Bäumen fachgerecht aufgeforstet. Unser Team ist dauerhaft vor Ort – ein Forst-Ingenieur, ein Ranger und Bauern aus der Umgebung gewährleisten ein effektives Management der Maßnahmen und das laufende Monitoring. Die Bauern werden gezielt für die Wiederaufforstung geschult. Sie entnehmen die Samen diverser Baumarten aus dem noch bestehenden Regenwald, ziehen daraus die Setzlinge und pflanzen sie aus, sobald sie stark genug sind. So werden die gerodeten Flächen im Verbund mit dem bestehenden Wald renaturiert – in seiner vollständigen natürlichen Biodiversität durch eine gesunde Mischpflanzung.

Wiederherstellung des Lebensraumes von Wildtieren

Unser Engagement trägt dazu bei, die vielfältige Tierwelt Costa Ricas zu schützen. Langsam kehren die Wildtiere in das Gebiet zurück, was wir mit fest im Wald installierten Kameras dokumentieren. Ein unbeschreibliches Erlebnis, wenn Ozelot, Tigerkatze und Co. der Wildtierkamera vor die Linse laufen.

Tief durchatmen: Der Output

Klima-Engagement im Regenwald ist hoch effektiv. Insgesamt bindet das Llambo Bonito Reservat schon heute jährlich ca. 2300 Tonnen CO2. Denn ein einzelner Baum im Regenwald absorbiert bis zu 22 Kilogramm Kohlendioxid pro Jahr und ein Baum speichert bis zu 0,91 Tonnen Kohlenstoff. Zum Vergleich: Eine 35 Meter hohe Fichte in unseren heimischen Wäldern speichert in 100 Jahren rund 0,7 Tonnen Kohlenstoff, was einer CO2-Menge von 2,6 Tonnen entspricht.

Alternative Einkommensmöglichkeiten für die Bevölkerung

Die Menschen vor Ort werden maßgeblich in die Projektarbeit miteinbezogen. Sie kümmern sich um die Anzucht und Auspflanzung der Baumsetzlinge und übernehmen die laufende Pflege sowie das Monitoring der Flächen. Statt weitere Flächen für die Viehwirtschaft zu roden, bietet sich der lokalen Bevölkerung eine neue Einkommensquelle.

Mit Ihrer Unterstützung können wir die großartige Leistung des Regenwaldes aufrechterhalten und durch Zukauf weiterer Flächen noch viel mehr erreichen.

Green Industry Zeitachse

2010
Gründung
2010 Gründung der Green Industry mit dem Ziel der Forschung und Entwicklung von nachhaltigen Materialien und Naturstoffen zum Einsatz in der verarbeitenden Industrie.
2010
2015
Übernahme
Übernahme der in Costa Rica ansässigen Auguras SA mit ihren Flächen zum Zwecke der Wiederaufforstung und Renaturierung zum Regenwald
2015
2016
Registrierungsprozess
Registrierung unserer Flächen in Costa Rica als staatlich anerkannte Naturschutzreservate.
2016
2019
Aufforstung
Seit 2019 haben wir rund 18 Hektar der gerodeten Fläche mit 20.000 einheimischen Bäumen fachgerecht aufgeforstet.
2019
Warenkorb
Nach oben scrollen